So I'm sitting on my balcony (! I still cannot get over that...) and the scene from Romeo and Juliet comes to mind... naturally, for your reading pleasure:
(it's long so I'll post a link...) http://www.shakespeare-online.com/plays/balconyscene/romeoandjulietbalconyscene.html
... You're welcome. Also, I'm getting serious flash backs to Mr. Barrett's 9th grade English class.. anyone? I found this gem online while I was trying to see if I spelled his name correctly: http://ckjh.cksd.wednet.edu/Student%20Webpages/Barrett/barrett.htm Again, you're welcome.
In other- actually meaningful- news =) (debatable, I know...)
It is just dusk here at 9 pm.. I just got done with a gym sesh, some yoga, and a shower... Life is pretty darn good right about now! Today was my first day at school this week because I've been sick and I was nervous I would have to reintroduce myself to all the children. Not so! One of the little guys even came up to me, gave me a hug, and proceeded to sit in my lap for part of one activity! (Granted, he should have been doing that activity, but! Overall, I count that as a success!)
Additionally, I've stopped being silent/trying to speak the few Turkish words I know and I've started just speaking in English and interacting with the kids as I would in the US-- Even though the language is a barrier, this worked better (today at least) because I am being myself.... time will tell...
A few words on "Culture Shock" ...
Obviously, I was/am still expecting culture shock... It is so funny though; for as different as life in Istanbul is, it's still life and we are all human, ya know?! Here are some differences
1) The language. Yep. Turkish is hard. I thought it would be easier to learn than it is because I have already learned Spanish... Nope. I am still in the learn-every-vocab-word-in-sight and then forget-it-all-the-next-second stage... oh well...
2) Metric system and military time. Yep. Welcome to the rest of the world. Thankfully I had experience with this in Argentina...
3) Futbol is not really for women. Again, similar to the rest of the world (sadly...) Today, when I was at the gym, I asked the attendant if he had a soccer ball... he just kind of stared back at me... I repeated again, "Eğer futbol var?" He said, "futbol?" And I nodded and started miming I was playing... he made a call and then said that they had given them all out already... he then looked me up and down and said "futbol?" once more... Maybe I just look really out of shape and therefore don't look like I play? Or maybe this guy just doesn't receive a lot of questions about footballs from females... lol.
4) There are doves (DOVES!) here. They greet me in the morning on my balcony. They sing to me as I get ready for the day. I feel like Gisele from Enchanted meets Noah's wife on the arc or something...
5) Turkish coffee is DELICIOUS. I don't like coffee. But, Turk Kavesi is like concentrated coffee in an espresso shot amount. It's wonderful.
6) The climate! It's warm here! I am expecting to get quite a tan this summer!
Ok. Time for bed. Sorry there were no pictures; leave it to me to either upload 20 or 0 (livin' life at the extreeeeeeemes!)
Iyi geceler (Goodnight- pronounced EE- yee Gay-jay-lar),
Hannah
No comments:
Post a Comment